Some countries has spent a number of money on building new railway lines for very fast trains

Task 2

Topic:

In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some countries nowadays has spent a number of money on building new railway lines for very fast trains. While some people believe that it is advantageous, others are of the opinion that they should spend money on improving existing public transport. This essay will analyse both sides of the argument before arriving at a reasoned conclusion.

There are certainly several benefits to constructing high-speed railway lines. First, it would make travelling between cities much easier. For example, in Taiwan thanks to the high-speed rail we can travel from the north to almost the south of Taiwan just in 2 hours. Moreover, because of this convenient and fast public transportation, it will attract more tourists from other countries, which can lead to the economic growth. However, the cost of building a long distance train system is usually very high and some people believe that it can be used in a more effective way .

Therefore, this leads to the idea that using the money to advance current public transportation. For example, if a country tries to improve it poor and old bus system , its citizens can truly benefit a lot. The residents can go to school or go to work in a fast way, and moreover, it can reduce the harmful emissions which are emitted by private cars. Those inhabitants would prefer to take public transportation which is more environmentally friendly .

To sum up, the high-speed rail system is a great way to connect one city to another city and it will also benefit in its economic system. On the other hand, improving the existing public transport can help local citizens to go through their country much more convenient. Therefore , I think a country should think thoroughly before taking the decision .