Some of countries have a strict regulation about petroleum by adding the price into the maximum

WRITING TASK 2

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some of countries have a strict regulation about petroleum by adding the price into the maximum so it can reduce the environment problems created on the road such as congestion and pollution. I argue that is not the best solution, I believe there are more thing that the government can do by creating more public transportation with the cheap tickets and merge both of the solutions.

When the petrol price is on its highest level, citizens have a tendency to reduce using private vehicles. Some of them will think about the expenditure they should spend if they push themselves to used it. In 2013, professor Murphy Mc Gonagal from University of California conduct a research in Singapore by collaborating with Nan yang Technology University has a predicable result as the number of car usage decrease to 25 percent in a five-year period. Despite this, increasing the price only affect a small change. If a country want to move bigger on changing people behavior to solve road problems they should follow lecturer from Ohio University, Mr. Brian Chen, who suggests high risk pollution countries to integrate at least two policies and not only focus on one policy.

The government need to produce policies which can support each other so the traffic and pollution can taking a nosedive. If a country have integrated policies, such arrange more mass public transportation in which the ticket price is easy to catch up by the mid-lower family income then increasing petrol price will success to move people from the road. So, congestion and gas emission from vehicles can be solved. London is a great example for city where the policies are success to reduce emission and traffic jam to under 15 percent as the city won the Global Green Policies Initiative in 2015.

To sum up , I claim that rising the petroleum price is not the best way, but if it being combined with other policy, in this case is building more transportation which can be used by all range group of citizens - classified by income.