TOEFL-course grades are based solely on exams while in other classes on participation

In some classes, course grades are based solely on exams, while in other classes, grades are based more on class participation than on exams. Which type of grading do you prefer?

There are several ways for professors to assess their students. They either can give an exam at the end of the course or can assess their students during the course. I completely agree with the grade that based on class participation. There are several reason why I agree with grade that based on class participation. One is that a problem might come up for a student at the exam date, an other is that assessment might not be fair at the final exam.

To begin with, at the exam date might a problem appear for test taker like an illness. For example, when I was in college in one of my final exam I caught a flu, and I was enable to get up from my bed. I lost that exam and my professor did not pay attention to my class participation,so I failed. I had to take that course again and it was completely unfair.

What is more, there are some topics that are bear, and a few students might do not understand them during the course. It might happen at the final exam that these kind of topics do not be asked, and the professor do not understand students' problem. However, students' assessment during course and giving exam after each chapter by professor can be more effective.

To sum up, when grades are based on class participation is fair, and professor can realize the student's problem during the course not at the end of the course. It can be really helpful.