Essay about whether creative artists should express their ideas in public freely

Greetings!

As we know, art can contribute to the development of our society. But that is not meant that artists have freedom to express their ideas in whichever way they wish.

To some extent, I am for the idea that artists express their feelings properly. After all, our country is democratic, everyone has the right to show their ideas and feelings, including artists. What's more, the masterpieces artists create can enrich our culture, making our life clourful and attractive.

However, on the other hand, it is unwise for government to allow artists to express their feelings freely. Government should establish restrictions on artists. Here are some reasons.

Firstly some ideas related to violence or pornography is detrimental to teenagers, because most teenagers have no prominent ability of differentiation, so they are more likely to be misled. Take Japan for example. Japan is famous for its animations, but the makers of it (a kind of artist), add many violence elements to the animations, so the crime rate in Japan has been in a high level. Secondly, with a great many different ideas emerge, conflicts between artists will ensue. In history, many wars broke out due to cultural difference. So a creative artist can't bear other artists holding opposite ideas to him, especially in the public, this is a common sense. Last but not least, the mainstream values might be ruined by too many different ideas. So the ideas which go against the mainstream values should not be allowed in the public.

In conclusion, it is positive to offer creative artists a platform to demonstrate their outstanding abilities, but do remember they must do it properly and that needs the restrictions of the laws.