Creativity essay - Human thought must be free, imaginative and even playful

I wrote the following essay in 25 minutes, in preparation for the SAT. English is my second language, and so there are a few mistakes in grammar and spelling, but I copied the text just as it was written for authentic scoring. Does spelling come into account when scoring the SAT essay?

P.S

This prompt is taken from a test that I downloaded, I don't remember where from.

Does anyone recognize the prompt and know where there are answers to the test?

Prompt:

Given the importance of human creativity, one would think it should have a high priority among our concerns. But if we look at reality, we see a different picture. Basic scientific research is minimized in favor of immediate practical applications. The arts are increasingly seen as dispensable luxuries. Yet as competition heats up around the globe, exactly the opposite strategy is needed.

Assignment:

Is creativity need more than ever in the world?

The ESSAY:

It is somewhat surprising but true that the greatest innovations in scientific though were achieved not merely through a methodic and technical procedure of accumulating facts and data, but also - and more importantly, mainly - by philosophic-like though experiments, and by the usage of imagination. The fact that this contradicts the popular image of science as perceived by most people, shows how much creativity as an important tool for knowledge and technology - and, therefore, general well being - had been underrated.

This kind of human progress is aspecially important in our world today, as we are facing many challenges previously unkown to humanity. With natural resources on the brik of exuastion - a dangerous situation conducive to great competition and thus wars and violence - we are in need of the great ideas that are essential to creating lasting well being. And if creativity is set aside in favour of seemingly more practicle activities because of our misconception about the practicle importance of theoretical, imaginative thinking, progress will not occure.

The famous science populizer, Carl Sagan, give a compelling argument of this sort in his latest book. He mentions the fact that the theoretical knowledge that made the invention of television possible, mainly the works of a Scotish scientist named Maxwell, was achieved through totally abstract, seemingly none practicle speculations. And if the queen of England had instead gathered the greates thinkers of the time and ordered them to invent a device that permits the communication of moving pictures, that would have never worked.

Human progress doesn't work in an intentional and rational fashion. Human thought must be free, imaginative and even playful in order for real progress to be made. And so with the great challenges that the 21st century has in store for us, we are in need for creativity more than ever.