Crime level - IELTS Writing Task 2 - assessment!

Each year, the crime rate increases.

What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Nowadays the world has been confronting with the significant growth in the proportion of criminals. Given that this trend leads to a whole host of issues for the government as well as the safety of citizens, identifying the reasons behind it is key to finding the solutions.

There are several reasons why the crime level has a markedly rise in recent decades. Firstly, since there are thousands of action movies and shows at disposal, people especially the young generation have a tendency for becoming addicted to this kind of videos, which might drive to obsession and criminal commitment. For instance, a recent poll by the UK Government found that 70% of inmates would watch too much violent acts on TV and as a result, they could not differentiate between fiction and reality, then unconsciously imitate these acts. Secondly, the loose control of gun also contributes to the climb of criminal activity. This means that everyone has a right to possess at least a gun, which might harm their neighbors.

Nevertheless, there are also variety of solutions to reverse this trend. First, the censorship should strictly check the quality of these violent videos as well as age restriction. This acts as an incentive for people to view the appropriate contents. Second, the government should pass a law which exclude people from utilizing guns. For example, Australia banned guns in 1996 and since then the crime rate in that country has reduced by 30%.

In conclusion, the mimicry of violent acts and the loose policy of gun ownership are the main reasons why more and more people commit crime. However, there are some solutions which significantly decline the crime level such as gun prohibition and violent limitation in the media.