IELTS:Crime_nothing can be done to prevent it_Agree or disagree?To what extend?

Crime is a big problem in the world; many believe that nothing can be done to prevent it. To what extent you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion

Together with the increased population, there has been concern over an increase in the number of crime. It is true that crime is a big problem in the world, but there are always ways to prevent it.

Crime is a big problem in the world. More and more people are being victims of it. Thieves, robberies, murderers, rapes...are among the most common forms. It not only harms people's well being, but also creates loss for society. That is to say the feeling of insecure and sadness when losing something usually valuable and the difficulty of dealing with the loss after that. Besides, more crime leads to the need for more prisons, polices and other means to protect society such as weapons, vehicles...So, this may cost more for everybody in the community.

No matter how serious crime is, there are some things we can do to prevent it. One thing is that we can improve the social awareness of crime through active involvement of parents, schools, government...in nurturing good qualities in children, training and providing jobs or volunteer opportunities for young people... Another solution is that more money should be spent on research activities into crime's nature and developing effective solutions.

In conclusion, though crime is a big issue nowadays, little is known about how it happens. However, I think crime depends on social circumstances. Therefore, we must ensure fair opportunities for everybody in terms of education, training and work. If we can improve life quality for everybody, then crime will be minimal.