IELTS TASK 2 ESSAY crime prevention, government or individual

who's the most responsible for the decline in crime?

Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In consideration of the fact of crime rate have been rising at alarming rate, Some argued that self-prevention of individual is the most efficient way to defend against crime. while I agreed that though there is a necessity for each individual to learn some self-dense techniques, the role of government is more significant in preventing crime.

On the one hand, each individual is certainly responsible for crime prevention. It is true that everyone of us cannot guarantee that police can be presented all the time. Hence, mastering certain techniques such as kungfu, karate, boxing can definitely help an individual protect themselves from an unforeseen incidence of criminal activity. In Japan, attempts to mandatorily implement such a self-defense training in school have been caught out and they have achieved a visible outcome since students are independent and responsible enough for crime prevention.

On the other hand, there is a limit to what an individual can do on their own, as crime are getting more intense and are posing a more considerable threat to society nowadays. Only government can make crime rate in check by enforcing a stringent rule regarding offenders and ensuring police department is proactive enough. I believe these definitely constitute visible deterrents to those needy minds and help reduce crime rate to a great extent. For example, while India are suffering from a constant increase of crime rate due to its lenient law and loose police department, other places such as middle east who with harsh penalty are having the lowest crime rate.

In conclusion, I believe while each member of society is held accountable for crime prevention, government has a major responsibility in preventing crime.