Crime: recidivism of criminals. Causes and solutions

Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they released from prison. What do you think are the causes for this?

What possible solutions can you suggest?

Repeat Offenders

That a lot of offenders repeat crimes after being liberated from jail is a growing concern for society. Several causes and feasible measures of this phenomenon will be covered in this essay.

There are some factors contributing to this context. First of all, rehabilitation programs in prisons are barren. In other words, keeping law-breakers in a cage cannot change their minds since they do not repent of serious consequences they have caused to the community and themselves. Furthermore, those who have been sentenced to prison frequently receive the alienation from other people. As a result, seeking employment is definitely difficult for them, leading to their recidivism in order to avoid poverty.

With the aim of mitigating this issue, a number of actions should be taken into consideration. To begin with, the government needs to improve the quality of the re-education process. For instance, convicts should be equipped with moral lessons to make them recognize their guilt and behave ethically, social skills as well as vocational training to help them earn incomes as soon as they are discharged. In addition, more and more campaigns and extracurricular activities should be organized to change citizens' attitudes towards released criminals. By this way, the public can understand the psychological pressure of the prisoners, renounce the stigma and alienation, and show their generosity to the contrition of internees. Therefore, those people are likely to have a better life afterwards.

To summarize, despite various reasons why law-breakers backslide, I am convinced that the state and community should be involved in precluding ex-offenders from relapsing into crimes.