Criminal habitual relapse. Cause and suggestions

Recent research show that the majority of criminals in some countries show sign of recidivism even after sanction and incarceration are imposed on them. The following essay will discuss about possible factor that contribute to such criminal habitual relapse and also put forward some suggestions for the problem.

There are many factors regarding this issue. However, the most obvious contributor to recidivism is the difficulties that those released offenders have to face in getting a job. The world is continuously changing with a fast pace, those who cannot adapt with such pace are not likely to thrive and survive in this society. In case of these offenders who are incarcerated for year without any interaction and contacts with the outside world. Therefore, they often lack general knowledge as well as skills which are essential in working environment. Moreover, companies are becoming increasingly strict with conviction, which can clearly be seen in their monthly criminal background checks and the disqualification of ex-convicts in job interviews. As a result, many criminals, especially property offenders, often end up relapsing their crimes and return to jail

To solve the problem, governments around the world should, in fact, fix their policies and laws concerning incarceration. To be more specific, they should stop focusing on keeping those offenders away from the society but rehabilitate and educate them instead so that when they are set free, they can be treated as normal citizens who have the right to vote and choose their careers. As for normal people, we should not express prejudiced and biased manners against them so that they do not have to feel the sense of isolation and alienation.

To sum up, the problem of recidivism is a depressing one that needs great collaboration between governments and normal individuals.