Criminal record has actually increased in recent years

Each year, the crime rate increases.

What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Criminal record has actually increased in recent years. This has affected people on many levels, often generating fear and leading to victimization and over-reaction. This essay accounts for the reasons why crime occurs such as economic factor and unemployment. Some measurements like CCTV, job vacancy and the involvement of police officer are also clearly stated to cope with this matter.

As a matter of fact, criminal act is caused by two main significant factors. The predominant factor resulting in the crime initiation is economic situation. To exemplify, a poor father may not be able to deliver his children in school and lack of education may lead to juvenile crime. Another cause of the problem is mass idleness. According to Bureau of Labor Statistics, 6 percent of people at the age of 16 years old and over are included unemployment. Consequently, owing to these reasons, it is inevitable that crime statistics are continuously increasing.

As far as I am concerned, there are potential strategies to fight the criminal activity. Firstly, Closed-Circuit Television (CCTV) can be used as a crime prevention method. A study reported that CCTV was used in fifteen housing complexes for elderly residents in Manchester, England and this declined in burglary attempts of 79 percent across all complexes. Also, the provision of employment opportunities need to be improved by new work fields. Finally, police force has to be an important part in society in terms of reducing the crime rate. There should be an increase in the number of police officers in order to control over the offenders.

The aforementioned evidence reveals that although the crime is a serious problem, there are remedial measures which can be taken to diminish it. It is imperative that if the above mentioned measurements are taken into account, the root causes of the crimes can be decreased significantly.