Many criminals commit crimes after they are set free. Opinion and solutions.

Essay about recidivism

Report research suggests that the majority of criminals who were sent to prison would commit crimes when they are set free. What do you think of this case? What to be done to solve this problem?

It is suggested that ex-criminals are likely to reoffend after they are released. Personally, though I think this is a negative case, I believe there are several solutions to this issue.

On the hand, there are two factors that I suppose would detrimentally affect both criminals and the public. In terms of offenders, as they continue to commit crimes, they would be more severely punished. These punishments may include years of being put behind bars, or even death sentence. This means to put an end to their lives. As for society, when these people disobey the law, they may cause serious injuries to not only properties but also humans. For example, some people often have their devices stolen, in which they store secret and important files, or there are those who get killed only because of hooliganism in the pub.

On the other hand, some effective solutions can be implemented to reduce this. Firstly, instead of imposing harsh punishments on law breakers, which is only a temporary solution, the government should teach them rights from wrongs. As a result, they can themselves change their mindset and rehabilitate, which is considered a far more permanent method. Secondly, people and the government should be more open to ex-offenders. This is because if those set free find everyone discriminate against them, they are more likely to be back to their previous path. For instance, the government can encourage companies to provide more chances for after-prison people to find jobs. Thus, they are less likely to feel dispensable and can contribute more values to the public.

To sum up, it is my belief that returning to the criminal path after being released is fairly a negative case. Regardless of it, there are two ways suggested above to alleviate this problem.