Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they released from prison. Causes and solutions??

The Phenomenon of Recidivism

There is a fact that more and more criminals become repeat offenders after they have released from prison, which is a headache to police and law enforcement officers. The essay below is going to explain the causes of this problem as well as suggest some possible solutions.

To begin with, prisons only removes criminals from society without any education or therapy for their mindset and character. To put it simply, dangerous people are isolated or removed from the community to not commit crimes and adversely influence other people. However, they are not re-educated to become a good citizen. Another factor is the difficulty to reintegrate back into society. There is no denying that prisoners are not welcomed by society. That the way the community treats them makes it is hard for them to return and live ordinarily, which may lead them to the old path. Particularly, it is usually difficult for offenders to look for a job because of their criminal history.

Therefore, to deal with repeat offenders, some feasible solutions should be taken into consideration. On top of that, education is probably the important one. In other words, criminals should be rehabilitated to become better citizens. For example, during the time in prison, prisoners should be arranged to work and learn a job which will be useful for them after prison. In addition, when a prisoner is officially released, the government should support them in reintegrating back into society. For instance, they should be helped to get a job after prison. By doing that, they can make money and seek for a stable life, which will help to prevent them from becoming repeat offenders.

By and large, the government and society should forgive and facilitate prisoners, who repent of their faults, to have a new life after prison. That is probably the best way to reduce the rate of repeat offenders.