In some cultures, the old is more valued, while in other cultures youth is more valued. Both views

In some countries, the elderly are of great appreciation, while in others, the young are considered more valuable. From my point of view, although the progress of a nation depends heavily on young adults, older people should still be appreciated for their dedication in the past and the valuable experience they provide for the younger generation.

On the one hand, young people are significant in national development. There is little doubt that the young comprise the majority of the workforce, and because of this, they offer public services like education, healthcare, infrastructure, and security. Without these services, it is unlikely for any nation to function properly, let alone develop. In addition, young people are innovative, diligent, and passionate about working to create breakthroughs in many areas. Therefore, the young should be valued and provided with favorable conditions to work effectively and become contributing members of society.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that under no circumstances should older people be depreciated. This is simply because they deserve it; like young people nowadays, the seniors used to make every possible contribution to the growth of their countries. Thus, as they grow older and lose the ability to work, they should still be treated with great gratitude. Not to mention, the elderly also have wide experience and invaluable lessons about life. They can help the youths overcome obstacles and guide them to the right path in life.

In conclusion, while it is apparent that the younger generation plays a key role in the development of a country, it is undeniable the elderly should be respected because of their wholehearted dedication to their country and their vast amount of knowledge.