Cutting-edge communication technology affect people's personal relationships

The use of electronic media has a negative effect on personal relationships between people.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Cutting-edge communication technology influences the way people interacting with each other. It is true that electronic devices bring a drawback in social relationships, but I totally disagree if this developed technology is seen as a sinister in people's personal lives.

Some people state that social connection among them is badly affected by the mass uses of electronic communication equipment, such as convenient mobile phones. Electronic media these days are easy to be used by people of all generations, from the children to the old. The most handy, sophisticated and favourite communication device, smart phone, makes people more likely to focus on their devices when they met with other people in real life. When in a meeting, for example, people who addicted to smartphones are easily distracted by the ring of it and ignore their surroundings. However, although it is evident that there is a bad effect of using electronic media for communication, I state that the use of this style of communication are absolutely beneficial.

Undoubtedly, electronic devices widen the range of people's connection with other people. As nowadays virtually every people owns an advanced communication devices, it is possible for the to keep in touch with anyone, anytime and anywhere they want. The difference of time zone and the length of distance does not matter. In addition, recently group chat becomes popular among people as it can connect people with someone who is barely known in the past. Thus, it can increase the number of relations they have.

In conclusion, it is true that there is a negative effect of electronically communication style, but it is not a great deal compared to the benefits. In my view, people should balance their virtual and real-life communication in order to avoid their prior relationships get worse.