Cyclists and motorists sharing the same roads causes some issues. What are the problems and solution

consequences of sharing the same roads between motorists and cyclists

It is true that the usage of the same roads by cyclists and motorists could be the culprit of several problems. While this is a serious issue, some measures should be taken to alleviate it.

The main issue of sharing the same roads is that there are numerous accidents, especially for cyclists who are prone to injuries from colliding with cars. Due to the fact that motorists could fail to be aware of other road users when some cyclists do not abide by the rules of the roads or stand out of sight of car drivers. For example, some motorists turn left or turn right without realizing cyclists near them, which could put cyclists at stake. Another problem is that many commuters using the roads simultaneously could give rise to traffic congestion. Therefore, this might deprive commuters of time and energy, followed by their poor work productivity.

Since such issues have several negative impacts, the government should take steps to address these problems. Firstly, they should have prioritized expenditure on road safety. In other words, they could allocate money for transport infrastructure such as expanding public systems and constructing more cycle lanes on busy roads. Secondly, it is advisable for governments to introduce a restriction on car drivers by imposing a congestion charge and upgrading side roads as modern as the main road. As a result, this might discourage motorists from entering the city center.

In conclusion, there are various negative consequences of sharing the same roads between motorists and cyclists and appropriate steps need to be taken to tackle these problems.