"My Dad in Me" essay need help with editing and any other things you notice

My Dad in Me

I am the type of person whose dad played a big part in making who I am today. My dad is the one who lead me to the Culinary Art field mostly. His job is being a computer technician for a company called EDS, which means Electronic Data System. Also he works for the HP computer company has well. So it is a far stretch from Culinary Arts as one could see. Now one may see how my dad's personality plays a big part in me today.

My dad made me who I am today by showing how to cook, sew, fix objects, build objects, etc. So practically my dad had molded my creative and crafty side of my personality.

My dad had learned how to sew from his mom. His mom, my grandma, used to sew clothes, do fixes, and patch up all of his and his four older sisters' clothes. Soon my dad begun to watch his mom, and practice on her sewing machines that she had in the basement in the house.

When I was younger, my dad had to hem the bottom of my pants when I had bought a new pair of pants because I was too short. After time of watching my dad hem my pants he began to show me how to sew projects, like purses. Soon after I had learned this talent I began to collect old fabrics, either from old clothes my parents were going to throw out or buying some at the fabric store. My skills began to become better and better, soon I was making purses for gifts, and then soon I was making pillow cases and now hemming my own pants after my dad had pinned the pant legs up. After this I got really creative and asking my dad how to show me how to sew when using a pattern. The first project with a pattern was a backpack, that I had used everyday in school, in the third grade.

The second time that we had a pattern was a very special project; my dad had made my Homecoming dress for my junior year. This dress was special in many ways because one my dad and I made it together, but also we almost did not finish it in time for Homecoming. It was so much fun to make this dress, my dad and I got to spend time with each other, though sometimes it did get frustrating of the time running out, and him having to work, and then me going to school and work. But in the end, when to dress had been finished it was a nice feeling. When I went to Homecoming, I receive so many complaints on my dress, and I told people that my dad had made it and people were amazing. People kept saying, "Your dad made that? No way!" and I would reply proudly and saying, "Yes, he did." I also loved the fact that I was original one and only person with this dress. The dress was a specially made, one of a kind Homecoming dress; and my dad had made it for me.

Also my dad had showed me the exciting part of Culinary Arts. Every year our family host the Thanksgiving dinner at our home, and make the turkey and the all important pumpkin pies. Making these pumpkin pies started off my goal in becoming a Pastry Chef one day. I just always loved how everyone waits and even saves more for the desert, and it is always the one thing people enjoy and make people smile when people eat it. I just loved making people smile I began to make cookies, brownies, rice krispie treats, chocolate cover pretzels, etc. and bring the sweet treats to school and handing the treats out to my friends and teachers. Soon I began to watch the Food Network channel on TV and trying to improve my skills to surprise family and friends around the holidays and such.

So now people can see how I am a lot like my dad, and how he had molded my ever most important creative side of me.