IELTS TASK 2: Daily online purchases for basic necessities have proven its popularity over time

buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.

Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Daily online purchases for basic necessities have proven its popularity over time, which has both merits and demerits critically analyzed in this essay.

On the one hand, shopping on websites is time-efficient. A plethora of applications and media provide customers with a boundless range of choices worldwide at a click of a mouse. In addition, online purchases allow for deliveries at a reasonable cost, so there is no need for users to deal with traffic and traveling expenses. Another captivating bright side of e-commerce stores is that people are able to attain an overall impression on the products that they care about based on former users' feedback and reviews, which assists in navigating the purchase towards the right decision. This indicates that shopping on the Internet also saves a fortune due to lower chances of throwaway. Afterwards, going shopping on websites is advantageous.

On the other hand, shopping through e-commerce platforms could exert detrimental impacts on the environment as the demand for shipment would increase followed by packaging. This could result in waste of tonnes of cardboxes, aluminum and, to make it even worse, plastic. Although the process of 3 Rs might be involved to alleviate the amount of the discarded, it still costs more effort and financial loss compared to waste produced by direct purchases. Besides, the convenience of shopping on the Internet comes along with a greater risk of privacy loss. To be more specific, the fact that we could receive instant access to the products that we are interested in on almost any website derives from trading of users' information. Consequently, the thriving e-commerce business brings about considerable drawbacks.

To sum up, the phenomenon is a two-bladed sword. If customers are to benefit, they should make the most use of the upsides and support the environmentally-conscious retailers in order to lighten the negative influences.