Datong District, the oldest district of Taipei City, is my hometown.

I am preparing my toefl test,and I do really need your help.

Thank you for your time :)

Topic:

If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Datong District, the oldest district of Taipei City,is my hometown. If I could change one important thing about my hometown, building a community college in the district would be my best choice. Here are my reasons.

First, education becomes available to all. The community colleges in Taiwan are for the local residents who want to take non-degree courses or take continuing education credits. By opening the gate to common education to more people, community colleges give citizens the knowledge and ability to serve the community and society. In addition, there is a wide variety of programs offered by community college, such as second language, sports, art and so on. However, those colleges are far from our community, so it is not convenient for us to take classes here.

Second, there are many great educational opportunities for retirees. Retired people don't need to stay at home all day long. Some of them learn new ideas; for example,after taking a computer course,some older adults could keep in daily touch with their childern and grand children by using e-mail or skype.Other senior found the true value of life in school and make new friends in school. Community colleges provide retirees a place for them to start a new life.

Lastly,the tuition is cheap, and white-collar workers can make their own schedule. Compare with most private schools, the charge of public community colleges are lower. In some cases, it is possible for the residents to get a special discount. Moreover, they take any kind of courses which attract them or help them improve themselves. For instance, some of them take English course for preparing an official English test; some may choose dancing classes after having a stress at work. Thus, it is a suitable institute for adults to learn programs or activities.

For the above reasons, I strongly believe that establishing a community college is a great benefit to my hometown.