Death Penalty should be given or not? The use of capital punishment

Some people believe that there should be the death penalty for extremely serious crimes. Others believe that it is not morally correct to kill criminals

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Death Penalty problem

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to whether to use capital punishment or not.In this this essay I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then give my outlook on this matter.

One side of the argument, there are people who argue that the benefits of death penalty considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that, in future criminals will be aware about the punishment before committing any offence. It is also possible to say that due to this kind of penalty there will be reduction of unlawful act along with the number of criminals. One good illustration of this is Osama bin Laden who had attacked twin towers of US for which he was executed in his own home town. Therefore this has given justice for the citizen of US.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact punishing the wrongdoer is like we committing another offence. People often have this opinion because, the person found guilty was forced to commit the crime due to the circumstances such as, self-defence. A second point is that, the facts relating to crime should be considered before the penalty . A particular good example here is due to dowry if the bride is been tortured till the death but, if she fights back for herself she should not be sentenced.

In conclusion, I believe that both the arguments have their merits. On balance I tend to believe that capital punishment should be practised only in the cases of serious unlawful act.