[TOEFL] The Deceiving Advertisement

Hello :) I`ve been trying to deal with the time constraint and the dumb-topic block, as in this case. That`s what I came up with in 45 minutes. Would you comment my structure, variety of sentences usage and vocabulary? I feel really awkward when I write, so I can`t give objective opinion on my work. I am trying to be consistent and logical, but does it really look that way? The other thing that bothers me is that I can`t come up with more `eloquent` language and style, because I am stressed from the time frame. Is it at least coming near to what is supposed to be a good essay? Thanks a lot :)

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Advertising

can tell you a lot about a country. Use specific reasons and examples

to support your answer

The Deceiving Advertisements

It is believed that society`s values are mirrored by its culture, arts and media, but in the case of advertisement things go in different direction. Because the solely purpose of this activity is profit, it is often biased and misleading. Therefore, it could convey wrong impressions in foreigners - for instance by depicting our country as obsessed with its past, populated with hopeless alcoholics and community built by peasants.

I can recall countless examples of the tendency to incorporate motives from Bulgaria`s past in today`s advertisement. This method is often used in food adds, with the intend to link present to the past and provoke memories in the viewer. And if a stranger see these kinds of adds, it would be easy for him or her to conclude that we love our before 1989 state. I seldom see somebody who misses our communist period, though.

The next possible misunderstanding is the largely widespread alcohol promotion. A great deal of TV`s time is given to its advertising. People are presented as having no other thought besides drinking beer and watching football in the bar. I believe that if a stranger depends on adds to learn about our culture, he would be surprised to know that not everybody enjoys these activities.

Finally, media sharks try to impose the opinion that Bulgarians are low-developed peasants. It is because this kind of person is easy to identify with, a large piece of adds rely on the image of low-educated farmer. I remember a TV commercial that showed a big hairy character in a bank - it looked like absurd. It might be funny to watch, but it would be wrong to interfere that the dominating part of our nation look that way.

Having the above mentioned in mind, I would hardly encourage one to depend on advertisement for learning about particular country. It could be deceiving and misleading. In fact, giving adds such an important task could be harmful.

(45 min)