IELTS TASK 2: WHO DECIDE TO CHOOSE SUBJECT FOR CHILDREN

Look forward to your feedback :D

The subjects that children are taught in schools are decided by central authorities. Some people say that teachers, not politicians, should be responsible for this task. To what extent you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is inevitable that subjects have essential roles in forming the ideal pursuits for children in forward education. Therefore, the decision about selecting subjects for standard curriculum has led to a debate of whether teachers or central authorities would shoulder such vital responsibility. As far as I am concerned, it is certainly the educational ministry that would involve in this issue rather than teachers' participation.

First and foremost, the governments' duty should be to decide the necessary subjects and skills needed for the development of economy and society. Therefore, the significance in choosing appropriate subjects is more critical so as to provide a well-rounded education for students. Via main subjects, optional subjects and mandatory examinations, individuals' ability would be accurately assessed in order to flourish a new generation which will later contribute to their country. Hence, the performance of teachers is currently to deliver well-prepared lessons to children rather than bearing this task.

Furthermore, educational ministry would consider establishing standardization among the curricular system. Apparently, the dominant authorities' role is to ensure the quality of schooling throughout the country by proposing some fixed subjects applied in schools. On the contrary, if teachers participate in this duty, it would certainly lead to the issue of exceeding variations in standards and qualifications, moreover, making ill-advised curriculum changes.

To conclude, it is true that the responsibility for choosing subjects should be certainly of the governments to make proper approach to forward benefits of the children.