Demographic trend in Scotland measured in proportion of birth rate, population growth and death rate

A change of Demographic trend in Scotland is illustrated in the line graph in a 8-decade period from 1940 to 2020 by measured in proportion of birth rate, population growth rate and death rate.

In 1940, the percentage of birth rate was stood at 2.5%, which was the high of the poportion among 3 categories over 8 decades. There was a dropped sharply over 20 years to 1.05% in late 1960. It fell to 0.6% over 30 years. However, a gradual increase was happened from 1990 to 2000 to 0.7%. As envisaged, it will be dropped gradually to 0.45% in the late 2020.

Death rate sharply fell from 1.5% to 0.4% among 1940 and 1955, a diminishing of 0.9% in 15 years. In 5 decades, it fell steadily to 0.2%. While Population growth rate was fluctuatively from 0.9% to 0.95% in 3-decade period. It suddenly fell down and get the levelled off and diminished in the end of 2005. From now and forcast, death rate will be replaced the highest proportion of the people who died in late 2020.

It is clear that the birth rate is the highest number of proportion in Scotland over 7-decade period until 2016 and as predicted still be the highest until late 2018. While the percentage of population growth rate was fluctuatively over 6-decade period, Death rate fell down and suddenly broke the record in late 2020.