Describe a character in fiction: How the steel was tempered

(what I have written only amounts to 150 words. I need another 150 words. what else can I add? pls. give me some suggestions. Thanks!)

How the steel was tempered, written by Nikolai Ostrovsky (1904-1936), portrays a legendary character Pavel Korchagin in October Revolution in Russia. As the hero of the story, Pavel, under the immense influence of a senior Bolshevik, has gone through a process from. passive defense to active attack.

In the battle, he realized that he must be a steel soldier of great determination. He once said: personal business must yield to collective interest. Though an accident left Pavel permanent handicap and he couldn't easily get about, he finally rose to his feet with his great confidence, persistence and diligence.

His example suggests we should grasp every minute to contribute to the development of society. No matter what we do, we should persistence until the minute of success. Meanwhile, persistence is of great influence and proves itself a great power which can stimulate one to overcome difficulties and attain success.