IELTS: When designing, the use of a building is the most important, rather than appearance.

the top priority function of a construction

When designing a building, the most important factor is the intended use of the building, rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people contend that the expected function of a building is of top priority, over its exterior display. Although it is irrefutable that the building should be employed at its best potential, I believe focus on only the use of a building is by far the best way to design one.

On the one way, a building is indeed planned out and constructed for a purpose, not just to look at. People seek for practical ways to utilize a space in the most reasonable expenditure, so in some cases outward appearance may be overlooked. For example, that a number of people migrate from hinter land and settle in urban areas does put a strain on city amenity and cause a lack of housing, so high-rise apartment and office blocks or multi-story car parks, though give a city a shabby and chaotic look, are effectively solutions.

On the other hand, I believe architecture is a significant form of art, thus function should not be the primary consideration when designing a building. Architecture and city planning can modify the image of an area. Therefore, it is imperative that sufficient funding be allocated to enhance exterior outlook of buildings, constructing places of interest and facilitate general infrastructure so as to foster tourism. In fact, lots of iconic constructions like the Eiffel Tower or Pisa Tower serve only one purpose as an architect symbol. Furthermore, a fascinating appearance of a building can instill a sense of pleasure to people. For instance, a well-lit and cozy head-office, a colorful kindergarten, an antique bookstore or a fancy fashion boutique are likely to stimulate people's creation and boost up some energy.

In conclusion, while I accept that intended use of a building are important when designing, external image should be equally ponder on.