"desire of good employment" - Why people attend college or university?

"People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increase knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer."

We have seen a tremendous increase in the number of people going to university in the last few decades. Why? Have it been for the development of the education system? Do employers require employee to have a higher education? Let examine several reasons below.

According to many surveys, the main purpose of people when they attend university is to prepare for their future career. Now take a look at employers' opinions. As the world advances in many areas, companies, corporations and organizations require their employees to have deep knowledge of their fields. Imagine that you are a person who only graduates from high school. How can you take such complex, demanding jobs nowadays? It is a belief that if you have no higher education, you can only do manual labor or low-paid jobs. These kinds of occupation often accommodate no promotion or get higher salaries. Moreover, because of this belief, more and more people enroll in colleges and universities each year, which lead to the fact that it is very competitive to be accepted to a job. If you do not receive a higher education, you are in an unfavorable position.

Another reason why people attend college or university is the experiences. Going to universities for 4 years or more help you become mature. For example, every student will feel nervous when they live in a different academic environment - the university. Soon, they will have to change something in their views, thinking, or even characteristics to adapt to this new place. They gradually feel comfortable; therefore developing relationship with other students and professors, participating in campus' activities, which will develop and sharpen their social skills. Thus, they will gain new life experiences. Besides, they also learn about how to prepare for future career by many different ways. For instance, they will learn about cooperation, an important trait that employers need, through group projects and presentations at school. They can also spend 4 years to find their best suitable jobs and research about what companies and corporations consider when they hire new people.

In summation, going to university or college enables people to achieve their desire of good employment in the future by giving them substantial knowledge and experiences.

Are my reasons effective? Is my writing coherent? I'm going to take the TOEFL test, so please criticize me more and show me which things I need to improve in my writings :D.