[WRITING 2 IELTS] In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. Ageing societies.

Topic:

In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing.

What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations

There is a fact that residents of industrialized nations are having longer life expectancy than ever before. As this trend continues, in the future, the number of old people will be more greater than the young; therefore, the rest of the world population would have to shoulder much more responsibilities. However, societies' actions to mitigate these problems are still possible.

Due to aging population in developed countries, many pressures will be placed on the whole world. The major issue is both governments and businesses have to pay more retirement pensions and health care costs, since the number of people who are eligible to receive the money is increasing considerably in the near future. It means the tax-payers will bear a serious financial burden and the young workforce has to work harder to care for the elderly. Furthermore, lack of young labour resources would cause stagnation not only for the growth of individual internal businesses, but also the global economy. As a result, many first world countries whose proportion of senior citizens is higher than the junior, such as Japan, are already suffering these negative consequences of longer life expectancy.

Nonetheless, there are some steps that governments and societies could consider to resolve this issue. Firstly, simple solution would be to extend the standard retirement age from 60 - 65 years old to 75 years old, since the old nowadays can still lead a productive working life, especially those have career at educational institutions. This way would reduce social welfare budget for the pension. On the other hand, the heads of societies should also provide a subsidy for the young people when they plan to buy a house besides encouraging citizens to have more children.

In conclusion, various measures can be used to tackle to the problems which are certained to the aging population in developed world.