Should the development of alternative sources of energy be continued ? Support your view

Energy source such as solar power, wind power, and wave power have been criticized ineffective and expensive to implement, compared with fossil fuels such as coal and oil. Should the development of these alternative sources of energy be continued ? Support your view.

Alternative sources of energy has been a topic of great interest in the world today. It has been researched and developed intensively since the Tokyo Convention. However, some has argued that alternative energy sources, such as solar power, wind power, and wave power are relatively ineffective and expensive to implement. In my opinion, the development of these alternative sources of energy should be continued for three important reasons.

Firstly, development of those alternative sources of energy would make available substitutes for fossil fuels. This is critical, because fossil fuels reserves are diminishing around the world. For example, researchers have warned that the world oil reserve is expected to completely drain up in the next century. If oil reserve completely drain up, we would face a humanitarian tragedy on a global scale. Worldwide transportation would be grinded to a total halt. The production of medical equipments, especially syringes, would also stopped because on of it's main material is oil. Therefore, it is important to continue the development of alternative energy sources.

Secondly, development of alternative sources of energy will eventually make available alternative energy sources that are effective and inexpensive to implement. For example, the development of wind power has made available a relatively inexpensive energy source of energy for regions with strong winds, such as the city of Aulendorf in Germany. Wind power supplied 40% of electricity there, making it less reliant on coal that is previously the city's main energy source. Because of the vanity of alternative energy sources being developed today, each city can choose the alternative energy source that suits them best. Hence, it is important to continue the development of alternative energy sources.

Thirdly, development of alternative energy sources will make available more environmentally friendly energy sources. This is important because fossil fuel usage is mostly harmful to the environment. For example, the use of oil as fuel in vehicles worldwide is the greatest source of air pollution today. Alternative source of fuel, such as those made from corn or algae, emits much less CO2 and CO gas to the environment, thus can potentially make the world's air less polluted, if developed and implemented properly. Therefore, the world should not abandon the development of alternative energy sources.

In conclusion, the development of alternative energy sources, should be continued. It is because it will make available substitutes for fossil fuels, it will eventually make available alternative energy sources that are effective and inexpensive to implement, and it will make available more environmentally friendly energy sources. Governments, corporations and international organisations would do well to support this cause.