TOEFL- "A development of more intensive ways to exploit the natural environment"

Topic: A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your

community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence

on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your

position.

A quote by Richard Wilkinson describes economic development as "A development of more intensive ways to exploit the natural environment". Keeping this in mind, I would strictly oppose the develoment of a factory near by my community and provide two significant reasons to support my disapproval.

First, the pollutants released into the atmosphere is harmful to the residents living in my community. The release of poisonous gases such as Methane, Carbon Monoxide, Chlorine through the factory chimney or other outlets will affect the natural surroundings. For instance, no one can forget the disastrous impact of the Bhopal gas tragedy that took place in 1984 where a pesticide plant released poisonous methyl isocyanate gas which claimed the lives of about 500,000 Bhopal resident living in the nearby area. Other effects of release of such a poisonous gas include Jaundice, Typhoid , Chollera and countless others. Although there is no certainity that such an incident is bound to happen immediately after the development of the plant, but one can't mar the self evident truth that it happens in almost all the cases.

Second, consumption of resources such as electricity and water by the factory will affect the nearby communities. For a factory to manufacture products, it needs continuous supply of electricity and water. This will reduce the rate of supply of these resources to the nearby communities. Thus one may observe frequent load shedding and scarcity of water in those areas thereby affecting the residents of these areas.

Thus to sum up, according to me building a factory nearby a residential community or any urban region should strictly be prohibited by law. You can call this as an act against the economic growth of the community but I dont want to see another Bhopal or Chernobyl debacles happenning in my community.