IELTS TASK 2: The Development of Tourism Contributed to English Becoming the Most Prominent Language

The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. what are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world

The increasing of tourism recently gave impact to people to use English more frequently over others languages in the world. People said that it can make English become the only language which people use to communicate internationally. This essay will discuss about benefits and drawbacks if it happens.

On the one hand, being easily connected all over the word is one of benefits if English was mother of tongue for everyone. If vigorous communication was built, diplomacy amongst countries, especially for two-conflict-countries, will result a win-win solution. Furthermore, this condition make peace happened and solve a lot of world problems such as hunger, poverty, equality and many more.

On the other hand, there are some problems will appear. People who understand English do not need read subtitle when they watch movie, and they will read international book version more often. it means translator job is not necessary anymore, and companies are beginning to retire their employees, which lead unemployed rate rise. this phenomenon has domino effect, which can give negative impact to others life aspects. for instance, when the quantity of jobless increase, the crime rate will rise as well.

to sum up, there are both positive and negative side, when English become one language people spoken globally. The benefits is no more language barrier and The drawbacks is interpreters will loss their job.