My diamond like best friend - descriptive essay

True friends are like flawless diamonds, very valuable and hard to come by. We all have had or still have friends that we consider to a beautiful diamond. That friend that is always there for you through thick and thin. That friend that you are like my family with rather than friends. These kind of friends are the ones that last forever just like diamonds. Lucky for me I unearthed a rather rare diamond amongst the many cubic zirconia named Jasmine Frazier. Jasmine and I became acquainted with each other when we were in the fourth grade. She was the funniest, caring, and most protective person I have ever meet and these three traits were what made her a friend like no other.

First, Jasmine was my rather adorable, brown-skinned, curly haired best friend since we were in the fourth grade. She was 5'3, one year older than me, always wore a smile that would linger in one's eyes after just one glance, and had a sense of humor like no other. Both pupils and teachers alike enjoyed her company and liveliness. There was hardly ever a dull moment when she was around with her funny quips and expressions. For example, whenever she would tell a joke, there wouldn't be a dried eye left in the room.

Next, Jasmine has a very amiable personality and I learned that in the when we were in the fifth grade. She was always there for me through good times and especially bad times. For example, there was this one time when I went to school and I forgot to ask my mom for lunch money. At first, I was not hungry and thought I could bear going without a meal but soon, my stomach began to growl. Without asking, Jasmine generously paid for my meal and drinks during lunch. The incident revealed to me how lucky I was to have such a caring and compassionate friend. She was often a very likeable person because she was kind to everyone but, in the sixth grade Jasmine showed a really unpleasant side of her that comes out when I was in trouble. I called this her protector mode.

As time went one, Jasmine and I had me become like sisters. She was the oldest and I was the youngest, even though our heights told a different story. We are now in the sixth grade and I was boy crazy I mean there were cute boys left and right but, because I was very shy I never spoke to any of them. Jasmine on the other hand made it talking to them seem so easy. So I, being the boy crazy girl that I was just decided that I would admire and crush on boys from afar. There was this one boy that I had a crush on, he was this tall, cute boy who had a smile as beautiful as a rose but, was as deadly as a poisonous rattlesnake(this I learned later on) and his name was Johnny. Now this deadly rattlesnake and the "Lunch room incident of '06," that he created is the reason why Jasmine has protection mode, so she could keep me safe from guys like Johnny. One day, I walked into the cafeteria with Jasmine by my side and all eyes were on me but we had no idea why. As we're sitting down, trying our best to enjoy this horrible school lunch, Johnny walks up to me and states aloud, sounding both shocked and befuddled

"So you're the one!"

After laughing over exaggeratedly in my face, he finally says those seven words that made me more afraid to approach boys today and turned my best friend Jasmine into my protector.

"You and me, that will NEVER happen," Johnny said as if his exaggerated laughter was

not enough to get his point across. One by one these words come towards me quickly and painfully as if I were in a boxing ring with world renowned boxer, Floyd Mayweather. As I was recovering from these unseen shots, Jasmine stood up quickly and came to my aide like she was my bulletproof shield. At this moment Jasmine is in protector mode and is doing what she is supposed to do when she is in this phase, she is protecting me. By the time lunch is over, I have already received an apology from Johnny, made some new friends who comforted me and the friendship between Jasmine and I had grown 10 times stronger than it was the first day we met.

In the end, Jasmine and I parted ways in the eighth grade, when I transferred to a different school. Even though we were miles apart, attended different schools, and were made new friends, she and I still consider one another as sisters rather than best friends. These memories wonderful memories of our friendship will forever be etched in my mind like engraving on a precious necklace. Jasmine will always be the rarest and most irreplaceable diamond or in this case, sister-like best friend that I have ever unearthed.