Different approaches when it comes to investing in building transport facility

Ielts essay about transportation task 2

Topic: " Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads - To what extent do you agree or disagree?"

It is widely accepted that transportation plays a vital role in the development of a nation. Different governments have different approaches when it comes to investing in building transport facility. Some people may think that it would be better to spend national funding on railroads than on the streets, as they are more essential. While I agree that it is necessary to focus more on railways, I believe that governments should also pay some attention to roads as well.

On the one hand, I think that railways are necessary to develop a country sustainably, especially electrical railroads. As they use less emissive energy and can carry a large number of people at a time, it can reduce the amount of pollution emitted into the air, and hence, save the environment. For instance, in Singapore, which is one of the top 10 cleanest capital cities in the world, 60% of its citizen uses the electric subway every day and the number of private vehicles is reduced as much as possible. Moreover, railways need only one-fourth of the space needed to build an average road, which means more houses, buildings, and even tree parks can be built.

On the other hand, I believe that building roads is no less important, although less concern is needed to be paid. Even when the railway system is huge, it is still impossible to reach every corner of the city. Since roads are smaller and are easier to build, more people choose them for short routes. Additionally, roads are still needed as most products are transported in this way, including agricultural products and industrial products.

To sum up, it is important to develop both kinds of transportation because of their own superiorities. However, railways should be prioritized in major cities because of its advantages, including saving the environment and the fewer space needed.