Different countries, different work settings

"I'm sorry to have to tell them this, but with this work ethic they are completely out of place here," came from the mouth of my teacher Ruud Greven recently. Statements of this kind I have become accustomed, even if it has no one told me so directly.

Well at this rate is expected of the student which the teacher is to understand this affected flinches or at least looks a bit guiltily. But this does not apply to me. Why, simply because I hear this sentence from the mouth of my teacher because of a property that I've noticed so far in any of my fellow student, namely the ambition of a real good grade. I got a nine-namely back for my exam, which is roughly equivalent to the Netherlands at a scale of one to 10 a A.

Well because in the Netherlands, later in your job search just one that you have received his bachelor's and not with what notes I feel almost more like a parallel universe that has been in my entire life I never told a teacher that my work ethic is wrong. Quite the contrary, my good performances and above all my will power my teachers were always impressive.

One of my classmates whose motto fasting times together as follows:

A pass is good A= good and good is almost an A +.

My motto is, however, is the following:

Pass is not an A + A + is bad and bad is almost five = F.

What then has brought me to the Saxion Hogeschool is still choose it is a modern university with everything which a student can only dream, small classes, large lecture halls flooded with light ...

But I see now that makes me break this work ethic, I love to learn and really excel in my performance, but precisely because of these achievements I've become an outsider. In a course with two hundred students, where only two other girls and boys only, also to be the best yet makes me a freak.

I do not want to be more and my guidance counselor Dr. Marjan Weehout the same time, Dean is my university told me yourself that I should better go to university, because otherwise I'm really broken. She told me I would just simply too much typical German with my ambition, my work ethic, my punctuality and my reliability.

Furthermore, would the Saxion Hogeschool has one drawback for me because many do not even regard as such. No student is really proud of his department or at the Saxion, rather the opposite is called the name of the Saxion never really proud, it's just just a name. In the Netherlands, the universities are obliged to accept any of the bidding, which not really a true relationship. No one is to have pride to get a place at the Saxion.

And precisely for this very reason there is no of students launched volunteer organization, or even projects, why should one has to do the something finally work and to find I had to unfortunately seems the majority of my fellow students to have an allergic reaction because this in words voluntary or extra work always take to their heels.

Yes, my university for me is not the study's paradise has become what I had hoped for, but to Germany in completely overcrowded classrooms where it is normal that sometimes you can find an hour before the lecture no space I will not.

And therefore I have decided after careful consideration that it was my goal is a place in the United States of America to get, because there I hope for a study area in which I feel very comfortable and I will accept them the way I am. A study environment where commitment and performance will be worth something.

Simply a study environment where I feel at home where I feel accepted, can I get involved in volunteer and in which I do not feel like a freak tolerated.

I wish professors who encourage me, I want to own creative, innovative, and unconventional ideas can develop and produce mainly individuals and no moderation. I wish for lively discussions and no chalk and talk, I would like to be able to represent my own opinion and not the opinion and view the word as the teacher must act.

I want to find a study group and sit in the library with others and learn using books, and not be there because we need a large desk with computer. None of my fellow students borrow books from, or is the effort to learn more than is necessary or prepare for the next lecture.

And all this hope and I expect from my dream university.