[Toefl] Do we need different sources of news to know about truth?

Topic: We need to have different sources of news and information to know which one is real or who is telling the truth. Agree or diagree?

Ostensibly, it is difficult to follow various kinds of sources, and more people are willing to stick to one newspaper or television to concentrate on what they're interested, such as the riots in UK or the massive uplifting in Arab Spring. However, we cannot deny that each source has its standpoint and limits, therefore, they may broadcast the new information from their own perspective, no matter it is manipulated by authorities or simply selling their own political philosophy. For example, if I want to understand what's really happening in the Middle East, of course there are plenty of news providers that I should count on. First, we have big news corporations, like BBC and CNN, which would provide vast amount of information. In the meantime, Al Jazeera from Qatar is also an option since I don't want to receive updates from the west only. Plus, we should depend on those local newspapers, like newspapers from Egypt, Tunisia, Lybia, etc, which would present you the closest investigations and specific details. Only by the information from different viewpoints and knowledge, one could integrate and combine all the information to generate the proper and unbiased understanding of the whole events.

Then let's imagine what if one can merely rely on one source. These situations are prevalent in countries where dictatorship still prevails. Those totalitarian countries could readily manipulate and control the media of what can be broadcasted, and what cannot be provided to the general public, and then massive propaganda would be implemented in countries like DPRK, where the people cannot receive unbiased information. In these countries, the residents would easily be deceived by the authorities, and then agitated to fight for some immoral and meaningless wars, or being told that the United States is an evil and capitalistic country, where people just care about money. But in fact those totalitarian countries are the place where large scale of corruption and injustice happened. Different information is power to reach the real truth.

Therefore, I shall conclude that indeed we should count on different types of sources to achieve, or at least touch the real truth.