Different views about what kinds of obligation a company should have

As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

companies responsibilities toward citizens

People have different views about what kinds of obligation a company should have. While I agree that the top priority of companies is to generate profits, I believe that they should also take responsibilities for society.

On the one hand, for most the company, making money is the precursor in an attempt to survive in a competitive world. Firstly, any companies have to cover its running cost such as employee's salary packages and payments for buildings and utilities. If a company is unable to pay its bills or meet the changing needs of customers, it would face the possibility of the verge of collapse. Secondly, when enterprises earn much money they can broaden their businesses, which opens avenues to seek more employment opportunities for people securing a job. To exemplify, some international corporations and firms such as Apple or Microsoft has been employing hundreds of thousands individuals around the world, which catalyzes to reduce unemployment rates and bolster economy growth in many countries.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why businesses should also accept that they have social responsibilities. The first one is that serious environmental damage is mainly attributed to the rising number of facilities. Therefore, they need to take immediately actions to protect the natural environment. Indeed, they could try new technologies to recycle their wastes instead of disposing them immediately. Another reason is that businesses could use a proportion of their profits to support local charities, especially needy people and those who are less fortunate such as homeless and disabled citizens. It promotes a sense of humanity and leads to the fact that public image of enterprises would be universally popularized.

In conclusion, although I believe that companies prioritize to make profits, I favour that they should have social responsibilities.