Many different views about the leading role of university education

Instructions:

Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace.Others think that the true function of a university should be give access to theoretical knowledge for its own sake,regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.What, in your opinion,should be the main function of a university?

meaningful values of education in schools

Many people have different views about the leading role of university education.Some regard academic knowledge as major function,while others think students should be trained to be useful workforce in the society.It seems to me that the both points are of great significance.

Research in a wide range of subjects,such as science and arts ,contributes remarkably to the development of many aspects of human growth.For instance,hand-on experiments lead to plenty of discoveries of chemicals,which may be suitable to be used as a part of new drugs.From an individual perspective,students gain access to explore their potentials and interests,so it is more possible for them to figure out their promising career paths.As mentioned,theoretical knowledge is not incompatible with fostering powerful workforce in labor markets,instead,it's helpful and indispensable.

On the other hand,skills needed in the workplace could be acquired and improved along with academic education.For example,listening carefully to teachers during lectures help students gain the ability to concentrate and grasp points promptly.What's more,respect for others and communication skills are all necessary either in conducting experiments in lab or in discussion groups.No matter in doing manual jobs or office ones,the abilities of dealing with co-workers are must-have,especially for the tolerance of differences.Finally,the skill of time-management and multitasking ability are as important in higher education as in the workplace.

Both professional research and improvement of labor force productivity are of meaningful value in university education.Personally,I am convinced that to pave for getting ideal occupations is the dominating function of a university.