IELTS TASK 2: Different views about the rising consumption of consumer products

Nowadays people are encouraged to buy more and more consumer products. Some people think it is good for the economy. However, others think it does great harm to the society as a whole. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the rising consumption of final goods. While some people argue that it is beneficial to the economy, I personally believe that it has a negative effect on society as the consumption increased.

On one hand, an increasing consumption of consumer goods is definitely advantageous to the domestic economy. This is because the spending on consumer goods, which accounts for the vast majority of Gross Domestic Product, stimulates the economy. The more products people purchase, the more products are going to be manufactured, so that the manufacturers would expand their factories' sizes to raise their productivity in order to cope with consumers' growing demands. As a result, many job vacancies are created, and a great deal of revenue is collected, and so the economy is boosted.

On the other hand, I believe that an adverse impact on environment is caused by the growth in the consumption of consumer products. The main reason for this is that the pollution is created during the manufacturing process of products. People consume more products, which means they also consume more energy, leads to a pollution in the environment. Furthermore, people have a tendency to dump their useless products more than before because they have already bought sufficient quantity of new ones. Consequently, the wastes, not needed any more, pollute the environment of society.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that a growing consumption of final goods stimulates the domestic economy; however, in my opinion, this also results in an environmental pollution, which cannot be ignored.