IELTS TASK 2: different views about teaching children to become a good citizen of the community

Teaching children how to be good members of society

Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about teaching children to become a good citizen of the community. While some people argue that parents play an indispensable role in shaping children's personality traits, others claim that school is a right place for children to learn social values. I strongly believe that both parents and school are equally significant in this issue.

On the one hand, it can be argued that parents have a tremendous influence on their children's behaviours. Parents are primary teachers and home is the first school for children from birth to preschool. Children imitate most of parents' actions, therefore, it is important for parents to set a good example for their child. It is also noticeable that the personality development of children initiate from home in the early stage. For example, in that period, children can be taught about good and bad concepts, how to respect elderly and how to treat people with proper attitudes.

On the other hand, some people argue that school is also a main factor that affects the form of children's qualities. School is a small environment which equips children with a colossal of knowledge and teachers are considered as influencers who instil children with discipline and social responsibilities. Children spend an amount of time at school to learn essential skills to become independent and confident in the real world. For example, children would be taught about basic characteristics in a working environment such as punctuality, teamwork skill, and discipline which are necessary. Furthermore, in school, children could interact with their friends from diverse backgrounds and characteristics. Hence, they have the opportunity to show and build their own independence and self-reliance.

In my honest opinion, both schooling and parenting are crucial to a child's development and they are not interchangeable. Therefore, children could perceive both moral values, knowledge and social skills.

In conclusion, teaching children how to become a helpful person is an arduous task that both parents and schools have equal responsibility for.