Task 2 ielts - Different views about what top priorities of our government should be

Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal.

Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about what top priorities of our government should be. Although some politicians claim that economic growth is undoubtedly most essential, I believe that other issues could be more crucial to our homeland and therefore deserve our attention.

On the one hand, economic progress is pivotal to the success of a country. With thriving markets and advancing economy, the government can secure reliable tax funds for supporting projects of infrastructure and public services, providing good standards of living to citizens. For example, in highly-developed countries, such as USA, the UK, Japan etc., people not only lead a rich and comfortable life but also have better education and welfare systems than those in the impoverished areas of the world. Furthermore, a nation with strong economy can come to prominence on the global stage, exerting its political influence and trade power.

However, although many wealthy countries already have gained great economic success, yet their people are still suffering from a variety of social and environmental crises. Even in advanced regions, racial and sexual discrimination, industrial pollution and political corruption are widespread nowadays. Economic progress should not be the only vision of governments. Instead, the success of a nation must also be considered with the areas of social justice, human rights and resource conversation. How well the governments preserve our natural environment and how they value opinions from several minority groups will benefit not only us but also our next generations.

In conclusion, upholding economic development is indispensable duty of our government, but not the sole central task they should focus on. The prosperity of a country will not be improved without the support of a stable society, better political conditions, and a sustainable environment.