IELTS Task 2 [direct question] Why do people want to research their family history?

Hi, I've just finished this essay. Please help me by pointing out my mistakes. Thank you.

Topic: In some part of the world, it is increasingly popular to research the history of one's own family. Why do people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

People are interested in their ancestry

Searching family history is increasing in popularity in some regions. There could be several reasons for this and I consider it to be both positive and negative trend.

There are two reasons why people grow great interest in finding their family roots. First, the availability of several family searching websites has encouraged more people to do genealogy. These websites allow them to create family trees and find long distant relatives, which fascinate those who are inquisitive in their ancestors' origin. Tracking medical history is another reason. Some chronic diseases can be diagnosed in advance if people are aware of their family background. For example, by doing research on family history, ones not only prevent genetic disorders during their pregnancy but also have healthier babies.

On the one hand, doing genealogy can be extremely positive. As people gain insights into their ancestors' lives, they also learn about family's traditions and contributions, which helps to preserve family history. Additionally, family background awareness is of benefit to later generation because it can bridge the generation gap and form a stronger unity. On the other hand, the search of family history also results in negative consequences. There are some cultural practices that are better not knowing since they are inappropriate in present days. Should people to find out the dark sides of their family members, it can cause embarrassment or resentment. For example, many people find it hard to accept the fact that their ancestors were slave owners although the practice used to be legal in some countries.

In conclusion, the accessible of family related websites and medical purposes are the main reasons that lead to the rise of family history tracing. Genealogy certainly benefits family members; however, it also does harm to the ties of kinship.