IELTS- Ad-Dis Essay. More and more people are starting to work from home.

The number of online workers is increasing

The question of whether or not workers should do their jobs at home via online devices has been a matter of debate since the Internet age. While there are drawbacks affecting workers, there are some merits of this modern trend. The essay will discuss both negative and positive sides.

One of obvious negative effects of working inside the home is lack of concentration on tasks. Surrounding distraction from neighbor or family, for instance, my nephews always keeps insisting on playing some funny games with me or being himself surrounded by loud music all the time. This would also mean that I can not fully concentrate on my job, which results in less productive, mainly falling to meet its requirements by my supervisor.

Not only that, limit of human social interaction is another downside in spite of technological innovations. Indeed, most conversations occur through keyboards due to a worker sits in front of screen without exchange support from his co-workers. In a long term, some depressed or anxious symptoms have appeared in the first stage. As a result, he suffers from his inside persistent feeling of sadness and loss of interest in communicating with people.

On the other hand, there is no doubt employees get more benefits from remote work policies. The most remarkable advantage is we would achieve and maintain our work-life balance. This means flexible schedule, namely setting our own working hours, taking breaks, having meals, doing regular physical activity and enjoying quality time with our loved ones at any time we wish. Consequently, work and individual life will be adjusted to our desire.

In addition, home-based office is considered a practical step to solve financial problems. One clear example is that we often spend much money on expensive breakfast, lunch or unexpected expenses at luxury restaurants if our head office is located in an urban area or a cosmopolitan city. That is to say as we work from home, we can buy food from the market and supermarket nearby with reasonable price in which contribute to balance the budget monthly.

To sum up, although working at home may have potential problems, overall I tend to believe that two advantageous aspects, particularly harmonious life style and financial issues will have a dramatic impact on workers' living.