Ad vs disad of a young population - IELTS task 2 essay

At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

-------------------------------------- xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ---------------------------

higher proportion of young people in a society

It is now seen that the proportion of young people in the demographics of some nations is considerably higher than that of the elder ones. I believe that this tendency could offer more good than harm owing to the beneficial impacts on a country that a young population can exert.

It is undeniable that a nation with a minority of middle-aged and senior citizens could face certain disadvantages. The most severe one could perhaps be the lack of expertise and wisdom to manage most aspects of the society. Top executive positions in the government and institutions often require extensive and diversified working experiences from job holders to carry out their work efficiently. However, these requirements need a longer working time to hone the capacity of workers and thus usually can only be satisfied by a small group of older professionals. This leads to a paucity of highly-skilled executives and could eventually result in the inefficient management and sluggish development of the national economy. As this shows, the disadvantages triggered by the lack of experienced workforce in most young countries are made clear.

However, despite the above-mentioned drawbacks, I am more persuaded that a young demographic could offer more potential benefits. A great number of young adults usually mean higher productivity and extra room for economic development. Young people have good health and fitness in general and they can work at their peak in much longer time than the elderly, thus they could deliver higher work outcome in many key areas, such as production and research and development. In addition, the youths have much greater consumption demand for a wide range of products and services, which is a paramount impetus to the sustainable development in these areas. As high productivity and great customer demand are deemed to efficiently boost healthy economic growth, which could result in an improved standard of living, it is therefore prudent about the outstripping advantages of a young population to a country.

In conclusion, whilst certain disadvantages could be identified, I personally believe that the benefits brought from a higher proportion of young people to a country are vastly immense.