Disadvantages of watching TV - not only personal scale

Past advancements on the field of technology have given birth to the now-dominant media, television which has changed our lifestyle to a drastic degree. Unfortunately, such changes seem to be leaning to, rather than positive, negative facets whose consequences typically target young viewers.

To begin with, televisions and movies are allowing children's behavior to take a turn for the worse. To be more specific, psychologically speaking, children, from the very moment of their birth, are considered to be blank pages whose codes of conduct are contingent upon other people, not until they are of adulthood do the degree to which they perceive others to develop their traits decreases. As a result, children are the most vulnerable prey to the ever increase in violent and melodramatic contents on television. Early exposure to such harmful elements may interfere with children's cognitive development and render them confused those with the reality, which would subsequently lead to many children mistakenly setting the characters they see as role models resulting in aggressive behaviors and juvenile delinquency being on the rise.

Secondly, watching television may, in some cases, affect students' progress at school. Particularly, the act of watching TV itself in addictive, and with the help from current technologies, viewers' experience is greatly enhanced, which would somehow mean that its obsessive nature could be increased to such an extent that many students may forfeit their schooling and spend most on their time watching TV leading to the downgrade to academic progress.

Another point worth pointing out is that the appearance of TV introduces great threats to people's physical and mental quality. For instance, prolonged period of exposure to the radiation emitted from TV's screen may cause visual impairment or sight-related diseases. What is more, watching TV could undermine people's reasoning skill since all of the information has been prepared beforehand and fully presented, there is no need to have our brain exercised.

To sum up, the damage of watching TV may extend far beyond personal scale. Therefore, we should impose a restriction upon ourselves about the amount of time spent for television everyday.