(IELTS essay) disappearing languages good or bad?

Many languages are disappearing every year. Is this is a bad thing or could have fewer languages help bring people together.

Globalization and liberalization made the world to shrink into the size of a village. Unfortunately, this means that smaller languages are in danger of extinction. Some people fear the loss of cultural identity, while others believe that the world with less language is better. In this essay, I will explain why I feel that we should preserve local languages.

Language is the main tool of communication between people. A community's language is bond up with its culture and identity. Therefore, it may be difficult to preserve one without another. Secondly, the loss of diversity may also deprive us of different ways of looking at the world. Thirdly, when an unwritten and unrecorded language disappears, it is a loss of science. Rapid reduction of world's language is making it increasingly hard to trace when and how people involved. Lastly, fewer languages do not necessarily mean better communication. As more people speak one language, it became easier for billions to be influenced by shallow media or aggressive politicians.

However, there might be a lot to be gained from having fewer languages. People feel, unity, equality and encourage economical development. Besides, it may reduce the problem of translation, reduce misunderstandings, speed up travel between countries, and boost business. Other major problem is marginalization. Communities who do not speak a major world language may fall behind in science, technology and their economies suffer. Another point is that having less languages might mean more shared ideas. Global collaboration could happen instantly rather than taking years. Although some people are afraid of the loss of culture and identity, it seems that, good ideas can survive. For instance, we are not speaking Latin or Greek, the values of their philosophers are remained with us.

To conclude, diversity is the beauty of the nature. After analyzing both sides, I feel that, dying small languages is not a good trend. Therefore, let us try to keep these minority languages as a part of this diversity.