Discipline is a growing problem in modern schools. Some people think that parents should discipline

children Discipline

Should children be imparted self-monitoring by their biological parents or should the government shoulder this responsibility on account of school discipline proved ineffective in contemporary epoch? In this essay, I shall discuss both sides of this controversial issue prior to going on to state why I tend to agree with the notion that parents are probably to blame whenever a child becomes disrespectful or develops unacceptable behaviors.

Those in favor of government intervention aimed at reforming behavioral problems of children, often lay particular stress on a high-disciplined generation since the state can resort to policy instruments concerning the importance of this attribute, including incentives, bans and mandates, information campaigns, and nudges. Only by doing so can public policies foster generally acceptable standards of behavior in the youth and raise emotionally stable adults. The argument, therefore, is that government involvement constitutes one of the viable solutions to tackle the lack of discipline in school. Hence, policy instruments capable of engendering behavior change on the part of citizens, especially the juveniles, have greatly assisted educators in surmounting disciplinary obstacles.

Convincing as the above-mentioned appear to be, there are many who believe that teaching children responsible behavior and self-control is commonly attributed to parental onus as parents have been deemed to be the most influential role models in a child's life. In other words, it is strategically vital to seek the most effective parenting methods that ought not to be relied heavily on corporal punishment since indiscriminately using disciplinary measures or inflicting pain on children to cease them to misbehave solely instills in them gratuitous violence of resolving the problems. This is also a raging debate about the indiscipline among children in schools in which a conducive learning environment should have been created. Accordingly, parents need empowering to be more involved in school discipline policies and procedures at best for the sake of hindering young generation from the waywardness and irresponsibility.

In conclusion, there seem to be valid reasons on both sides of the argument and ideally, not only is government intrusion considered to be virtually indispensable to aid schools in correcting misbehavior of students but also their parents should cooperate. Yet, I am consistently a staunch supporter of the idea that children should be brought up in a home in which there is unconditional love along with clear boundaries, limits, rules and consequences to make them consciously move from obedience to accountability.