IELTS Writing task 2: Discuss about advantages and disadvantages of private medical services.

Private Healthcare services analysis

[Question] Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so the medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do you think the disadvantages of private health care outweighs the advantages ?

[Answer]

It is irrefutable that having a good health is one of the fundamental rights of every human being. Therefore, the business on medical services should be banned. In my opinion, although there are some drawbacks of private heath care, I would argue that these are outweighed by the benefits.

On the one hand, private medical treatment has its own negative impacts in some aspects. The biggest drawback to private-owned hospitals is that the fee for their services which includes treatment cost and prescription charges is remarkably high in comparison with the one in public hospitals. It is due to the fact that making money is always the top priority of private holding companies. Therefore, patients who choose to take medical treatment at these companies might suffer more from financial hardship. Furthermore, with the aim of maximizing profits, some private clinics not only impose higher treatment price but also minimize the labor cost by hiring low-skilled or even unqualified medical practitioners. This leads to the possibility of patients being wrongly diagnosed and receiving ineffective health cure.

On the other hand, it seems to me that the governments should encourage private organizations to invest in medical systems because of some undeniable advantages. Firstly, it can help to lessen the burden on public health care system. For example, many public medical centers in Vietnam have been overloaded for a long period of time, resulting in the deterioration in the quality of health care. In order to deal with this situation, private clinics are widely established and provide people with more and better choices when seeking for medical care. Secondly, thanks to local private clinics, residents of rural or mountainous area can easily access to the primary health care without needing to take a long road to center hospital. As a result, people from minority groups might not hesitate in having a regular check-up, so that they are able to detect health problems at early stage and take preventive measures if necessary.

In conclusion, despite the drawbacks of medical services being provided profit-making companies, I believe that they play an integral parts in improving the quality of medical systems.