Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media rich society

Write about the following topic:

It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media rich society.(IELTS-Academic)

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Media is a two-sided sword. It has a huge effect on human's life in all arenas. These effects include advantages and disadvantages.

Media is beneficial to societies and individuals. The most crucial benefit is providing information and knowledge about local and abroad news. For example, watching Television informs individuals about political events such as conflicts, wars , and economic data such as currencies, prices of precious metals or stocks. In addition , it aware people about dangers and give them health instructions to save their life. Moreover, Media can be an important tool for all sectors of society: disadvantaged and poor people, politicians and officials, merchants and investors, teachers and students when It gives them an opportunity to express their opinions and interests. For example, In Jordan many women killed because of what is so-called "honor killing" but women' rights societies succeeded in establishing a law to punish those criminals by highlight on this dangerous issue through Media in 2012.

On the other hand, media can be source of lies , rumors, and falsification the truth. For example, media depict the fighters for freedom in Iraq as terrorists. In addition, commercials and advertisements influence on individuals to purchase specific products although these products are harmful for their health such as Coca cola or Nescafe . These companies have a domination on different types of media in our lives.

In conclusion, despite the fact that media is a significant tool in our lives, It can be beneficial and detrimental. Thus people must be warn of it.