Discuss the cause of air pollution, conclude the benefits of car-free days, give three solutions

Task 2:

Some people think that international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution, however, others think there are other ways.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

summary:

Body 1: Quick discuss the cause of air pollution->conclude the benefits of car-free days->benefit in some aspects

Body 2: Give 3 solutions: using alternative energy,monitoring plastic waste,using public transports

Many people think that international car-free days can curb the level of air pollution effectively. Meanwhile, others insist that there will be other proper ways. In my opinion, I side with the latter view.

On the one hand, creating international car-free days can benefit the environment in some aspects. Today, one of the causes of air pollution is the emissions from transportation, namely CO2 and NO2. The working mechanism of a vehicle is burning fossil fuels such as coal,gas and oil to create energy to move, which also emits a huge amount of air pollutants and smog into the atmosphere. Therefore, having a day to not use any transportation can limit such a huge amount of exhaust fumes. However, it can only be beneficial for a short time. In other words, daily emissions can be about hundreds of times the reduction in these international car-free days, so it is not very effective as expected.

On the other hand, I believe that there must be a lot of other ways to reduce air pollution. It is necessary for the authorities to encourage citizens to shift towards using alternative energy rather than relying on fossil fuels. Because fossil combustion is the main reason for the deterioration of air quality. In addition to this, the disposal of waste, especially plastic waste which emits toxic fumes when incinerating, should be regulated and monitored. The final solution can be the most effective way of reducing air pollution is to encourage people to use public transports in parallel with increasing the taxes on car ownership. Therefore, there are a lot of other ways to limit the level of air pollution besides international car-free days.

In conclusion, in spite of the benefits that international car-free days brings to our environment, I still believe that there will be other ways to tackle this problem.