IELTS WRITING TASK 2 - Discuss - Living in big cities

TOPIC: Some people believing that living in big cities is becoming more difficult. Others believe that it is getting easier.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether living in major cities is gradually becoming more and more convenient or not has never failed to attract the attention of society for a long time. In this essay, I will try to discuss both viewpoints before reaching my own opinion.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why having a life in big cities is such an advantageous way of living and can bring various merits to people. Firstly, living in urban areas tends to provide residents with a number of job opportunities. In this way, the aims in people's lives would likely become more and more plausible to pursue and acquire, which is due to the fact that it will help people ensure their career paths, boost their egos, and take hold of their ways of living among many others. Besides, these days, there are several sorts of job choices that can be suited to people from all walks of life, from blue-collar work to white-collar jobs, which potentially plays a significant role in resolving the unemployment issues. Secondly, there is a wide range of services, which is a result of how society is deeply changing day-to-day due to various advanced developments. It's clearly signified that versatile kinds of services have now arrived in our daily lives. For instance, even one of the most trivial tasks, including booking a taxi or ordering food, can now be easily carried out without any doubt. Furthermore, it is also indisputable that thanks to these services which have helped people reduce the burdens from the hustle and bustle of cities, their lives are thoroughly improved in many aspects.

On the other hand, living in the era of urbanization can put people into struggling situations with a number of hardships. First and foremost, one of many alarming issues that people in large cities have to deal with is pollution. Broadly speaking, urban areas have seen a significant rise in the number of breeds of pollution. For example, air pollution, noise pollution, and so forth. These significations of urban life would not only slowly and gradually devastate and contaminate the overall environment but also have enormous effects on people's health in an adverse way. Besides, the more sufficiently the services are supplied nowadays, the higher the living costs are in general. It's due to the fact that compared to life in smaller cities, there is a variety of living expenses that make residents' lives are far more disadvantageous to be met demand such as education spending, hospital fees, and so on. Moreover, instead of putting all efforts into settling in large cities, people can try to stay in a self-sufficient way of life in minor cities or suburb areas, which doesn't cost a deal in living and help residents be able to establish a greener and more eco-friendly lifestyle.

After considering all the facts, I would agree that although living in big cities has some prominent downsides, it still remains essential for people to go in search of life-changing experience and acquire better living conditions in those cities.