Discuss the merits and dismerits of online learning among students in the context of COVID 19.

online learning evaluation

Against the backdrop of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, online learning has been widely introduced to solve the problem of schooling disruptions. Personally, I subscribe to the belief that the benefits of such a development absolutely overshadow the downsides.

On the one hand, there are a multitude of merits that online learning confers on students. In the first place, the introduction of online learning helps maintain education. In the face of the pervasive spread of COVID-19 leading to many schools and colleges' close-down, learning via the Internet allows students to continue their incomplete study in the safest way. Secondly, online education also assists pupils in building up essential skills. As students stay at home and study without the teacher's strict supervision, they are required to form their awareness of self-study in order to maintain good scholastic performance and not to miss out on lessons given by their teachers. Furthermore, they also need to learn about time management and computer literacy so as to facilitate their learning process.

On the other hand, the drawbacks of this development cannot be neglected. Firstly, on account of the freedom to start learning at any time during the day, online learning makes it easier for students to procrastinate, which is likely to give rise to low educational quality. However, this drawback can be eliminated with stricter surveillance of parents and teachers. Secondly, online learning does not ensure equally-dispersed opportunities of education for all kinds of students. To demonstrate, there are some impoverished pupils whose parents cannot afford expensive digital gadgets, so they are certainly unable to keep on their study as other privileged peers. It is beyond dispute that such a method of education may arouse some kind of unfairness among school attenders during this period of time. Nonetheless, those students could join with their peers who can afford a device and study together, which enables them to get exposure to online lessons as equally as others and even .

In conclusion, online learning conspicuously brings both merits and demerits to students. Nonetheless, I highly believe that the advantages of it absolutely eclipse the disadvantages for all aforementioned explanations.